January 2024 in Books

The Last Devil To DieJanuary 2024 has seen me starting my challenge of trying to read 100 books in a year. I didn’t manage to get through as many as I would have liked in the month (only six read) as it took me ages to read ‘Little Women’ – another item on my 40 Before 40 List. I actually didn’t end up finishing the book in January, so it will fit into February’s list. I started the year reading the latest Thursday Murder Club book, knowing that I would churn through it, which of course I did. You’ll also spot a couple of familiar authors there in the form of Roald Dahl and Dick King-Smith – two of my favourite authors from when I was younger. I’ve been wanting to re-read ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’ since we saw it at the theatre last year (worth seeing if you get chance). And ‘The Queen’s Nose’ was sat in my bookcase, so it would have been rude to not re-read it.

The Book Club Read for the month was ‘The Silent Patient’ by Alex Michaelides, which we all agreed we enjoyed – although some people got the twist quicker than others – I was one of the last ones to twig as ever!

I definitely need to pick up on my reading throughout February to stay on track with a 100 books this year! Any tips for shorter reads will really be appreciated to help me reach this target!

– Richard Osman – The Last Devil To Die

– Roald Dahl – Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

– Roald Dahl – Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator

– Dick King-Smith – The Queen’s Nose

– Lisa Jewell – The Truth About Melody Browne

– Alex Michaelides – The Silent Patient


Leave a comment