September 2022 in Books

Malibu RisingAfter thinking September would be the month I read more, I went completely the other way and managed to only read three books. I did end up having to buy a new Kindle in September when the battery just conked out on me – not ideal timing when it was before we flew to New York. I thought the travelling would mean more chance to read, but even though we had travel chaos with Aer Lingus (still waiting for them to get back to me as I write this), I couldn’t focus enough to read.

‘Malibu Rising’ was the first book I’ve read by Taylor Jenkins Reid, and I will certainly be looking out for more by Reid, as I really enjoyed this book as the characters were really brought to life in the writing. ‘Summer Fever’ I did find a bit of a reading battle, and I didn’t relax fully into it – not helped by my Kindle dying right when I had finally got into it. The final book I did manage to finish on the way to New York (I did start another one, but didn’t finish it until we were home in October), was our Book Club read of the month, ‘Take It Back’ by Kia Abdullah. ‘Take It Back’ was definitely an eye-opening read as it tackles so many different issues – it can be quite a tough read, but was certainly worth it in the end.

Three very different books this month – none an easy ready, so maybe I should be using that as my excuse why I didn’t read very much…

– Taylor Jenkins Reid – Malibu Rising

– Kate Riordan – Summer Fever

– Kia Abdullah – Take It Back


Leave a comment