August 2022 in Books

LessonsBack down to four books in August – mark this month as ‘should do better’ – I’m not really sure how I didn’t manage to read more this month – I think August just managed to get away from me and I wasn’t reading every night like I normally do. June and July did have the benefit of featuring a holiday though – as will September when we fly to New York.

Some different books in the form of ‘How to Kill Your Family’, and the book club read of  ‘Lessons in Chemistry’, along with some authors I’ve read before in Jill Mansell (always enjoy her easy reading chick lit), and Shari Lapena (worth checking out for some suspense novels).

Looking back, I’m still not 100% sure if I did enjoy the book club book – ‘Lessons in Chemistry’, I didn’t entirely warm to the lead character, but I would say it’s worth checking out as a history lesson of what women had to deal with in the 50s/60s – a very well-written book though, and a lovely vibrant cover for your bookcase.

‘How to Kill Your Family’ was certainly a quirky book, and one I wanted to read after it seemed like everywhere I went, everyone was reading it. It’s certainly one I would recommend checking out if you’re looking for something a little different to read.

– Shari Lapena – Not a Happy Family

– Jill Mansell – Should I Tell You?

– Bella Mackie – How to Kill Your Family

– Bonnie Garmus – Lessons in Chemistry


Leave a comment