May 2024 in Books

Go as a RiverThe final catch-up reading list blog!

May was about the short reads – code for I need to do some serious catching-up if I have any hope of reaching my target of reading 100 books in the year. The fact that we had some lovely weather in May also helped my reading this month. I love nothing more than sitting in the garden with a book, and the sun shining is the perfect excuse to not worry about anything else and just sit and read – of course two bank holidays in a month also provides a helping hand to me being able to read 11 books in the month and get myself back to target. A few familiar faces popping up and I finally read ‘The Family Remains’, Lisa Jewell’s sequel to ‘The Family Upstairs’ – both books are worth a read. As ever, the Dorothy Koomson book was devoured in the space of a couple of days. And I experienced a sense of deja vu with ‘Open House’ with Jill Mansell – I must have owned it previously as a paperback as Kindle didn’t flag up that I already owned it when I brought it.

The Book Club Read for the month was Shelley Read’s ‘Go as a River’. I have to admit that when this book was chosen, I didn’t think I would enjoy it. How wrong I was. I think the fact I had time to sit and read this book in some big chunks really helped me get into it. I don’t feel I would have enjoyed it as much if I had read a little bit each night, which is what happens to a lot of my books if I don’t carve out that precious reading time. Very much a heart-wrenching story, and we all agreed we wanted more from the ending…

– Teresa Driscoll – The Friend

– Jill Mansell – Open House

– Lisa Jewell – The Family Remains

– Fern Britton – The Great British Getaway

– Peter James – Wish You Were Dead

– Dorothy Koomson – Every Smile You Fake

– Ceceila Ahern – The Year I Met You

– Heidi Parks – The Other Guest

– Ruth Kelly – The Escape

– Shelley Read – Go as a River

– Sophie King – The House Share


Leave a comment