Turning 31!

Before I turned 30, I had the list of 30 things I wanted to do before I turned 30. For me, turning 30 was a big deal – well I thought it was. As it turned out, turning 30 wasn’t a big deal. Although I didn’t complete the list of 30 things, I had a good old stab at it and still keep certain things up on it. I still post two Instagram pictures a week and I still make an effort to ensure that everything I buy or wear isn’t black. I’m still even better at trying new foods, so I did succeed in some ways.

Now it’s just over a week until I turn 31 and reality has hit. I am not where I want to be. By now, I wanted to own my own house and be in a job I love. At this moment in time I find myself unemployed and any thoughts we had about taking our first steps into being home owners has been shelved until a much later date.

Finding myself unemployed has been a huge shock to the system. Understandably my confidence has been knocked, but I had two choices; sit and wallow, or dust myself off and get on with it. I took option two. I got straight onto the job centre as I had to get myself registered for job seekers to have some money coming in and I got my CV sorted. This was all on the same day as losing my job. From there it’s been job hunting and trying to tweak my CV as there is so much competition out there and you have to find your own way to shine. I’ve worked since I was 16, so there’s no way I’m scared of a bit of hard work to get myself back on the right track.

Did I see myself in this position at 31? No is the simple answer to that. But at the end of the day, I am not going to let this defeat me and I have to believe very strongly that everything does happen for a reason and that my next big challenge is just round the corner for me!

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

