New food for July: Sushi

In a shocking turn for me, in July I actually tried three new foods! If I was being clever I would have spread these out over three months and then I wouldn’t spend each month racking my brain trying to think of what new food to try. Own brain fail!IMG_0679

What did I try in July? Well, I tried sushi, sea bass and marrow in the space of one month. But the food I tried first was sushi, so we’ll count that as July’s food (I didn’t have my phone or camera with me when I tried sea bass in champagne sauce on holiday and I didn’t even think of taking a picture with the fried marrow we had with dinner one night and saying it was the food for August!). So after seeing a selection of sushi next to the till in the kiosk in Asda, I decided to be brave and try it. I opted for a selection of fish and vegetable rolls to try different bits and push my own boundaries as sushi has never appealed to me previously – in fact, I’ve turned my nose up at the idea of it before when it’s been suggested to me. The selection I tried contained tuna and cucumber, salmon, and sweet pepper and prawn – so a very fishy selection for someone who is only just getting used to eating more fish.

So it came as a shock to me when I did actually like it! Yes, me who has turned my nose up at sushi actually liked it – and have had it again since. My only gripe is the fact that both selections I had contained cucumber – a food that I don’t like (yes I have tried it and have managed to eat in unintentionally on several occasions and still haven’t liked it). The next step for me would be trying a larger selection of items and I’m actually willing to do that. We have a food success!

This entry was posted in 30 Things Blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

