21 days of vegetarianism turns into 24

I didn’t quite know how I would get on with doing 21 days of vegetarianism; as I said previously, I’m not a huge meat eater, but I wouldn’t want to give it up completely. Anyway, I completed it – a173nd easier than I thought I would, especially as I’ve eaten out so much. I’ve actually done 24 days in total as I didn’t actually fancy eating any meat – although there is now bacon in the fridge as I do love my bacon.

I may not have been very adventurous with what I’ve eaten, but it has certainly done me good eating a lot more vegetables and salad that I have ever done. I do feel more healthy for being more considerate about what I’m eating. I haven’t actually lost any weight when I stand on the scales (not that I am a big one for going by what it says on the scales due to me being so curvy), but I would say there is certainly less of a ‘bloat’ to my stomach – unfortunately not enough to make me bikini ready for my Turkish adventure! That’s my own fault for that though – I’m not exactly what you call motivated when it comes to exercise (something that does need correcting if I intend to to the 5k that’s on this list).

A favourite I’ve been cooking is doing rice with loads of different vegetables and chopped tomatoes through it. I switched it between adding quorn pieces and adding kidney beans; I cooked it in bulk and freezed it – or had it for lunch the next day adding 196extra bits like feta through. It’s my own version of ready meals when I cook in bulk – there’s always things like pastas, bolognese (often a vegetarian version where I’ve had a sauce to use up) and chili in the freezer.

To bulk out meals a bit I’ve been adding feta and mozzarella through – two cheeses I like anyway – and a huge reason I could never be vegan. One of the meals with feta was adding it with tomatoes to pasta and then putting coleslaw through it – a very filling meal – cheap too.

As I said, I have eaten out quite a bit over the last three or so weeks and have only found once I couldn’t eat anything off the menu as it was all mushroom based – which I don’t like and quorn food – I didn’t see the point in paying for quorn pieces when I had them in the freezer already. Other than that, I found plenty to chose from; from vegetable lasagne, to pasta, salad and jacket potato. I often opt for vegetarian meals when I’m out – especially in pasta and pizzas – I a203lways have preferred vegetarian pizzas to meat pizzas – a way to actually get vegetables into me.

I’ve tried to make sure that I haven’t gone for easy foods all the time – sure nothing I’ve had was complicated, but I’ve certainly chopped more vegetables than I have ever done. Although I am going to go back to eating meat, I do want to do meat free Mondays so that I don’t completely abandon chopping all my veg and create a filling meal that way.Β Β I know that I didn’t create any different recipes, but when you’ve just got in from a long drive, you don’t want to cook properly – which is why roasted veg is pretty good as once you’ve chopped it all up, you just whack it in a dish and you can get on with other things around the house.

This entry was posted in 30 Things Blogging and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

