Haunted Eyes

For the first time in a long time, I looked in the mirror the other day and I’d lost the haunted look. For the first ti119me in as long as I could remember, my eyes were clear. My eyes have always been the key to what I’m feeling; I’ve never been able to hide what is going through my head; from love to hate, from confusion to fear. It’s really true when they say that your eyes are the gateway to your soul. It does make you wish you could wear sunglasses all the time so that you avoid people knowing what’s going on.

Those close to you know that they only have to take a glimpse at your eyes to know if something is troubling you.

Yet these days I have nothing to hide. You can look into my eyes and the twinkle is back. The life that I felt was diminishing has returned. I feel content; I feel happy. It’s been a long time coming, but hopefully it stays. I want the haunted look to be part of my past and stay there.

This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

